Ubuntu Play:deletion of /etc/shadow or /etc/password corrupted my env.

by Vivek Mishra


Never mess with /etc/shadow.😦

By mistake I have deleted it and restoring everything takes ages.
I landed myself into series of troubles.
1)      Login was not possible.
2)      After that my sudo stopped working.
3)      Then MySql server stopped working.

Problems:
1)      Login was not possible: Well to address this you need to restore shadow and password file(simpally make a replica of shadow- and password-)

2)      Sudo: This was a big problem. After too much googling finally I made it working by following commands.

chown -R root:root /etc/sudoers
chown -R root:root /etc/sudoers.d
chmod u=rwx,g=rx,o=rx /etc/sudoers.d/
chmod u=r,g=r,o= /etc/sudoers.d/*

You might need to run these by login as root.

3)      MySql server was not starting up:   Upon issuing mySql start:
a)      World-writable config file ‘/etc/mysql/my.cnf’ is ignored
b)       Can’t connect to local MySQL server through socket ‘/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock’
 
Reason for this problem is again related to permissions, issuing given below commands resolved my problem:

/etc/mysql
chmod 770 my.cnf
chmod 770 mysqld_safe_syslog.cnf